Ramblings, Scramblings and the thought of Happiness

It is always at the start of the year when the feeling of uncertainty is heightened. At the same time, a sense of hope overwhelms us thinking about the possibilities that could occur. We are all pumped up to make the world a better place. We start listing things that we want to do with our lives and with these lists we create a mold that would perfectly shape a version (insert age here) of ourselves.

I am heeding a friend’s advice for this year. Through that number game on Twitter, a friend told me to “find happiness in being ordinary.” The thought has been lingering in my mind ever since. A lot of us want fame and fortune that we forget how nice it is to be ordinary. We could wallow in a space where we could go unnoticed, out of sight from the scrutiny of other people. But I guess that was not my friend meant. I wanted to ask my friend what he meant exactly. It is possible that I could be over analyzing things. But then again, there is no harm in provoking the mind to think some more. I guess being ordinary is getting rid of that spotlight. It is a matter of freeing one’s self from the selfishness that’s been nesting on the inside. It is acknowledging that the world does not revolve me and being okay with it.

But for me it must not stop in finding happiness in being ordinary. I must also learn to find happiness in things that are ordinary. There are things that go unnoticed if we don’t take a break from all the hustle and bustle. One of the things I learned to appreciate is the bliss of silence. Don’t get me wrong. I like to talk, I like to listen to music. But the silence allows me to think (about life and all its conundrums or about solutions for a bug in the code I am working on.) Another thing I have been doing more often is gazing at the moon and stars. We were on our way to church and I was in the back seat of the car. I stuck my head out the window and saw that the night sky was clear and stars glittered. To my amazement, I just blurted: “Wow!” (If my memory serves my right, my mom and sister were a little bit confused. Hahaha!) To a person whose sky is polluted by light, a clear sky with stars shining is a sight to behold. One thing I miss though is seeing the sunrise. I want to be a morning person but I’m failing miserably in trying to become one.

The talk about ordinary things reminds me  a Bosconian teaching — that we must also do ordinary things extraordinarily well.  In the process of finding happiness this year, I hope that we all go through what life has to offer. No rewinds, no fast forwards. No pause nor stop. We might find happiness in being ordinary in the ordinary. Let’s find happiness in being ordinary and in the ordinary but let’s do ordinary things extraordinarily well.

Cheers to chasing happiness and dreams this year!

The view from my dorm room’s window as I the sun rises. ❤

P.S.

I came across this 30-Day Challenge called Zero to Hero. The first post should be an introduction about me but in line of being hopeful I ended up writing an introduction to a facet of the person who I want to be. Also, if you are interested in keeping a blog the Zero to Hero is a good way to get you started 🙂

11 thoughts on “Ramblings, Scramblings and the thought of Happiness

  1. Such a great post. I discovered mindfulness last year, and now I am always on the look at for the tiny but beautiful things in every day life. The stars – definitely!! We spent hot evenings lying on the grass star gazing. Such simple bliss. Silence, sunrises, sunsets, all these years I’ve missed out! The only thing I’m not sure of is doing ordinary things extraordinarily. The perfectionist in me starts to worry I’m not doing anything well enough, but that’s another issue!

    • I’m glad you share the same sentiments about simple joys in life. About being a perfectionist, I think we all strive to be perfect. We may not be able to achieve perfect results in the things we do but at least we try. After all, we are human. 🙂

  2. LOVE this. “Find happiness in being ordinary,” is a perfect phrase to describe what I am trying to do this year. This is the year that I am expressing myself openly without any more fear. Part of that is finally starting a blog (after sitting on the URL for a year).

    The message and language of this post have gotten me hooked. Good luck with Zero to Hero!

    • That line from my friend got me hooked too. It got me to think and come up with this post. I hope you do get to express yourself more through blogging. The Zero to Hero is such a great opportunity to just get everyone started. 🙂 Btw, I the ring of “observernomore.” It has a proactive ring to it! Good luck with your Zero to Hero, as well! 🙂

  3. Hi Alyssa – I think you answered the first day of Zero to Hero perfectly. I enjoyed this post. Kind of funny, the picture I used for my first Zero to Hero day was a picture I took of stars…

    • I’m glad you enjoyed this post 🙂 I checked your post too. Nice picture of the stars. If only I had a better camera to also take a picture of the night sky from where I am, I would probably use it for one of the posts on this blog.

  4. It is true that from the ordinary we can extract the most happiness. I’ve also noticed that is has been in some of the most ordinary moments that i have felt the most at peace and happy with life. Simply noticing the colors of the sunset or the different things around me boost my mood even if it only a little.

    I don’t know if you’ve heard of Dr. Brene Brown, but last year I read her book The gifts of imperfection and I found it to be very useful and inspiring. You can also find some of her tedtalks on youtube (http://youtu.be/iCvmsMzlF7o)

    Anyways may 2014 be a year filled with extraordinary ordinary moments 🙂

Leave a Reply

