Square One

Square One

It was Dr. Reese Macabebe who informed us about Schneider Electric’s Go Green in the City. She thought that Lorenz “Enzo” Payonga and I would make a great team. Enzo has been an intern in Ma’am Reese’s laboratory for quite some time while I also showed interest in the field of renewable energy. Although, it was still our prerogative to join the competition. On a side note, I was at the Rizal Library when I read the e-mail informing us about the competition and reading through the e-mail stating that the finals will be in Paris gave me goosebumps.

The first hurdle was coming up with the idea. Both of us in the team had to think of energy efficient solutions that are feasible. It was Lorenz who had the Eureka! moment and thought of the concept behind Oscillohump. We consulted with Ma’am Reese before to go over our proposed solutions and she suggested we push through with the Oscillohump as our entry.

It was last March 26 when we got an e-mail from Ms. Rachelle Bada of Schneider Electric stating that we were part of the Top 3 finalist in the Philippine stage of the competition. I remember calling Enzo (who was in Albay) as soon as I read the e-mail. We really did not expect to get in.

During the preparatory stage for the Philippine Finals, I was already working as an intern in PLDT. Due to my prior commitment, it was Enzo who spent more time working on the prototype with the help of Mr. Sonny Toledo of the Electronics, Computer and Communications Engineering Department. For my part, I helped in building the business case. Both of us had to learn the technical and the business aspects of the project.

We had our doubts going into the finals but we just
wanted to give it our best. 😀

Leave a Reply

